[image ALT: Much of my site will be useless to you if you've got the images turned off!]
Bill Thayer
(link to previous section)
[image ALT: link to next section]

Book III, Chapter 8

Location of Dacia
(from the Ninth Map of Europe)

Thayer's Note: Stevenson's "translation" of Ptolemy, to which this page belongs, is abysmally bad. It should not be used for any serious purpose. For details and correctives, see my Ptolemy homepage.

Dacia is bounded on the north by that part of European Sarmatia, which extends from the Carpathian mountains to:

that terminus where, as we have shown, the Tyras river is deflected in its course in 53*00 48°30

on the west by Iazyges Metanastae along the Tibiscus river; on the south by that part of the Danube river between the mouth of the Tibiscus river and Axiopolis, from which town as far as the Pontus and the mouth of the Danube it is called the Ister; the several sections of this southern boundary are:

After the mouth of the Tibiscus river

the first turn which is west-southwest is in 47*20 44°45
then a bend near the entrance of the Rabon river which flows from Dacia in 49*00 43°30
and a bend at the entrance of the Ciabrus river which is in 49*30 43°45
a bend near the entrance of the Alutas river which comes from the north in Dacia 50*15 44°00
a bend near Oescus 51*00 44°00
a bend near Axiopolis 54*20 44°45

thence the Danube river to its mouth is called the Ister as we have said.

On the east Dacia is bounded by the Ister river near the bend close to the town

Dinogetia, the location of which is in 53*00 46°40

then by the river Hierasus, which near Dinogetia flows into the Ister from the north, and turning eastward extends as far as the indicated bend of the Tyras river.

The Anarti, the Teurisci and the Coestoboci inhabit Dacia in the northern part, beginning from the west; below these are the Praedavenses, the Rhatacenses, and the Caucoenses; below these, in this order, are the Biephi, the Burideenses, and the Cotenses, and below these are the Albocenses, the Potulatenses, and the Senses; below these, in the southern region, are the Saldenses, the Ciagisi, and the Piephigi.

The most important towns of Dacia are these:

Rucconium 46*30 48°10
Docidava 47*20 48°00
Porolissum 49*00 48°00
Arcobadara 50*40 48°00
Triphulum 52*15 48°15
Patridava 53*00 48°10
Carsidava 53*20 48°15
Petrodava 53*45 47°40
Ulpianum 47*30 47°30
Napuca 49*00 47°40
Patruissa 49*00 47°20
Salinae 49*15 47°10
Praetoria Augusta 50*30 47°00
Sandava 51*30 47°30
Angustia 52*15 47°15
Utidava 53*10 47°40
Marcodava 49*30 47°00
Ziridava 45*30 46°20
Singidava 48*00 46°20
Apulum 49*15 46°40
Zermizirga 49*30 46°15
Comidava 51*30 46°40
Ramidava 51*50 46°30
Pirum 51*15 46°00
Zusidava 52*40 46°15
Polonda 53*00 47°00
Zurobara 45*40 45°40
Lizisis 46*15 45°20
Argidava 46*30 45°15
Tibiscum 48*30 45°15
Zarmizegethusa regia 47*50 45°15
Aquae 49*30 45°20
Netindava 52*45 45°30
Tiasum 52*00 45°30
Zeugma 46*40 44°40
Tibiscum 46*40 44°50
Dierna 47*15 44°30
Acmonia 48*00 45°00
Drubetis 47*45 44°30
Frateria 49*30 44°30
Arcinna 49*00 44°45
Pinum 50*30 44°40
Amutrium 50*00 44°45
Sornum 51*30 45°00

Thayer's Note:

a BIOEA is almost certainly a modern editor's misreading for ΒΙΘΙΑ.

Page updated: 10 Sep 09