[image ALT: Much of my site will be useless to you if you've got the images turned off!]
Bill Thayer

[image ALT: Cliccare qui per una pagina di aiuto in Italiano.]

[Link to a series of help pages]
[Link to the next level up]
[Link to my homepage]

[image ALT: link to previous section]
Chapter 28

This webpage reproduces a chapter of
Iowa As It Is in 1856

N. Howe Parker

Chicago and Philadelphia, 1856

The text is in the public domain.

This page has been carefully proofread
and I believe it to be free of errors.
If you find a mistake though,
please let me know!


[image ALT: link to next section]
Chapter 30
This site is not affiliated with the US Military Academy.

 p259  Chapter XXIX

Free and Accepted Masons

No. of Members
Burlingtonº 50
Muscatineº 63
Dubuque 44
Iowa City 28
Wapello 23
Marion 49
Augusta 18
Mount Pleasant 35
Keosauqua 46
Tipton 26
Keokukº 29
Fort Madison 18
Bloomfield 33
Fairfield 35
Ottumwa 25
Salem 49
Oskaloosa 47
Burlingtonº 23
Agency City 34
Ft. Des Moines 18
Grandview 17
Rochester 17
Cedar Rapids 28
Washington 30
Farmington 16
New London 32
Keokukº 23
Muscatineº 37
Iowa City 20
Sigourney 30
Winchester 21
De Witt 23
Kirkville 24
Maquoketa 16
Davenport 28
Richland 11
Sabula 20
Troy 16
Libertyville 23
Centreville 14
Wintersett 15
Le Claire 13
Crawfordville 13
Anamosa 11
Bentonsport 7
Cedar Falls

Note. — This table is taken from the Report made to the Grand Annual Communication, June 6th, 1854. Other lodges have been  p260 organized since, and numerous members added to the Order, but this is the latest reliable data accessible. In this list the lodges are arranged according to their age and No., except that one (No. 9), "revoked," is omitted; so that Mount Pleasant is No. 8, Keosauqua, 10, Tipton, 11, &c. The next session of the Grand Lodge of Iowa, will be held in Keosauqua, Van Buren County, the first Tuesday in June, 1856.

Independent Order of Odd Fellows

There are of the I. O. of O. F. in this State, sixty-one lodges, which are located in the following counties:—

Appanoose, Buchanan, Black Hawk, Bremer, Clayton, Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, Des Moines, Davis, Fayette, Henry, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Lima, Marion, Mahaska, Madison, Muscatine, Pottawattamie, Polk, Scott, Van Buren, Wappello,º Washington, Winnesheik,º Warren.

Sons of Temperance

The number of divisions of Sons of Temperance in the State, as near as we can ascertain, is not far from one hundred and fifty, most of which are located as follows:—

Counties Towns
Appanoose Centreville
Black Hawk Waterloo
Cedar Rochester, Springdale
Clinton De Witt, Camanche
Davis Bloomfield
Delaware Delhi, Hopkinton, Uniontown
 p261  Des Moines Burlington
Dubuque Dubuque, Hogansville
Henry Mount Pleasant, Salem
Jackson Andrew, Bellevue, S. Fork, Sabula, Lamotte
Jasper Newton
Jefferson Fairfield, Glasgow
Johnson Iowa City
Keokuk Sigourney
Lee Keokuk
Louisa Toolsboro'
Lucas Chariton
Mahaska Hopewell, Oskaloosa
Marion Knoxville
Monroe Albia
Mills Silver Creek, Glenwood
Polk Ft. Des Moines
Scott Davenport, Le Claire, Blue Grass
Van Buren Keosauqua, Farmington, Pittsburg
Wapello Ottumwa, Dahlonega, Agency City, Eddyville, Bentonsport, Bonaparte, Birmingham
Washington Washington, Richmond
Warren Indianola

James Thorington, of Davenport, is G. W. P. of Iowa.

[image ALT: Valid HTML 4.01.]

Page updated: 3 Sep 11